Bishop's Sutton Parish Council

Bishop's Sutton has been a civil parish with its own Parish Council since the Local Government Act of 1894.

The first official meeting was held on 20th December 1894. The Council has five councillors, who individually represent the whole village. Councillors are elected for a period of four years either by election in the village or by co-option to fill a vacancy and at the Annual Meeting. The Chairman and Vice-Chairman are elected by members the following year.

The Parish Council meets monthly in the Village Hall, normally on the 2nd Tuesday of the Month commencing at 7.30pm. There is no meeting in August. Members of the public are welcome to attend meetings, and may address the Council under the 'Ten Minute Rule' at the appropriate Agenda item.

The Agenda for each meeting is posted on this page, on the main noticeboard at the Village Hall car park and the noticeboard at Hobbs Close.

The Annual Assembly is held in April and the Annual Meeting is held in May. The Parish Council does not hold a meeting in August.

The Parish Council is fortunate in having our local Hampshire County Council Councillor Rob Humby attend our meetings when possible and normally City Councillors Lisa Griffiths, Russell Gordon-Smith and Margot Power attend.

Many of the services in the Parish are provided by other authorities such as Hampshire County Council and Winchester Council and details of who to contact for information/report problems can be found on Useful Things.

If you have a problem/complaint relating to planning, public facilities, highways or local services; you are entitled to contact the relevant local Authority or Public Body direct. However, you may wish to contact the Clerk in the first instance to check whether the Parish Council is already dealing with the matter.

Insurance certificate 2020-21
Accounts Statement 2019-20
Council Meetings

2020 Minutes







Contact the Clerk: 01489877898

Mob. 07528781075

Council Members

Cllr Rod Budd Chairman

Residential Planning, & SLR (speed sign)

Cllr Paul Rutherford Vice Chairman

Community matters, Asset Register

Cllr Peter Nankivell

Footpaths & Rights of Way

Cllr Jackie Sumner

Highways & Winchester District Association of Local Councils

Cllr Martin Jay

Industrial Planning, Lengthsmen & Sun Lane Development

Mr Kenrick Fell Clerk

Sun Hill Development and Whitehill Lane

Bishop's Sutton Parish Council are in touch with Winchester City Planning Authority and Hampshire Highways concerning proposals relating to the use of Whitehill Lane during the construction phase of the A31 roundabout and thereafter. I confirm that the Parish Council will do their best to ensure that any problems to the village resulting from these proposals are minimised. We will keep residents informed as matters develop.

Rod Budd 

Chairman Bishop's Sutton Parish Council

Please reload

Parish Matters